Home > Community > Alumni > Distinguished Alumni

Distinguished Alumni

SJI, as a school, has a long tradition of offering a brand of balanced and holistic education that has produced many leaders in both public and private sectors. The list below provides some examples of distinguished alumni who have done the school proud. You may also read about other Josephians in our SJI publications.


  • Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam (Class of 1958)
    Former 7th President of Singapore (September 2011 - August 2017)
    Former Deputy Prime Minister of Singapore (stepped down on September 1, 2005)

  • Dr Chau Sik Ting (Class of 1959)
    Late former Member of Parliament for Thomson

  • Mr Mah Bow Tan (Class of 1966)
    Former Leader of the House
    Former Member of Parliament, Tampines GRC

  • Mr Teo Chee Hean (Class of 1972)
    Senior Minister and Coordinating Minister for National Security
    Member of Parliament, Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC
    Chairman, National Research Foundation

  • Mr George Yeo (Class of 1972)
    Vatican's New Council for the Economy
    Pontifical Commission for Reference on the Organization of the economic-administrative structure of the Holy See
    Deputy Chairman, Kerry Group
    Former Minister for Foreign Affairs

  • Mr Matthias Yao Chih (Class of 1972)
    Former Deputy Speaker of Parliament
    Former Mayor - South East District
    Former Member of Parliament, MacPherson

  • Mr Chong You Fook Charles (Class of 1972)
    Deputy Speaker of Parliament
    Member of Parliament, Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC
    Chairman, National Police Cadet Corps Council

  • Mr Edwin Tong Chun Fai (Class of 1985)
    Minister for Culture, Community and Youth and Second Minister for Law (with effect from 27 July 2020)
    Member of Parliament for the Marine Parade Group Representation Constituency (Joo Chiat Division)
    Senior Counsel and Partner at Allen & Gledhill LLP

  • Mr Christopher De Souza (Class of 1992)
    Member of Parliament for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC
    Partner at Lee & Lee

  • Mr Yip Hon Weng (Class of 1993)
    Member of Parliament for Yio Chu Kang SMC
    Director, Strategic Development, Temasek

Public Service

  • Mr Tan Yam Pin (Class of 1960)
    Deputy Chairman, Public Service Commission

  • Mr Tan Chin Tiong (Class of 1963)
    Ambassador to Japan

  • Mr Lim Soo Ping (Class of 1969)
    Former Auditor General of Singapore (Retired)

  • Prof Tan Chorh Chuan (Class of 1975)
    Chief Health Scientist, Ministry of Health (MOH) and executive director of the new Office for Healthcare Transformation
    Former President, National University of Singapore
    Former Director of Medical Services, Ministry of Health (MOH)

  • Mr Tan Tee How (Class of 1975)
    Former Commissioner of Inland Revenue and Chief Executive Officer of the Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore

  • Mr Leo Yip Seng Cheong (Class of 1979)
    Head, Civil Service
    Permanent Secretary (Strategy), Prime Minister's Office (PMO)
    Permanent Secretary (National Security and Intelligence Coordination) and
    Permanent Secretary for the PMO
    Former Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs

  • Mr Gabriel Lim Meng Liang (Class of 1991)
    Second Permanent Secretary (Communications and Information)
    Former Chief Executive Officer, Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA)
    Former Chief Executive Officer, Media Development Authority
    Former Principal Private Secretary to the Prime Minister

Non-Profit Organisations

Arts, Entertainment and Media

  • Mr Mark Van Cuylenberg (Class of 1972)
    Also widely known as The Flying Dutchman; host compere, radio personality


  • Dr Ee Peng Liang (Class of 1930)
    Late Businessman and philanthropist

  • Tan Sri Khoo Teck Puat (Class of 1933)
    Late Singapore tycoon, philanthropist

  • Mr Goh Sin Tub (Class of 1946)
    The late pioneer of Singapore literature and a teacher, civil servant, banker, builder, social worker and former chairman of the SJI Board of Governors

  • Mr Noel Hon (Class of 1962)
    Former Chairman, e-COP (retired)
    Former Chairman, NEC Solutions Asia Pacific
    President of the Singapore Scout Association & recipient of the Gold Lion Scouting Award

  • Mr Sim Giok Lak (Class of 1962)
    Chairman and Managing Director, Zicom Group Ltd

  • Mr Ernest Wong (Class of 1963)
    Chairman, Invida Pharmaceutical Holdings
    Member, Temasek Advisory Board

  • Mr Chia Kim Piow (Class of 1964)
    Chairman and MD of Rotary Engineering
    Recipient of Public Service Medal at 2010 National Day Award and Businessman of the Year at the Singapore Business Awards (SBA)

  • Mr Peter Seah Lim Huat (Class of 1964)
    Chairman, DBS Group Holdings Ltd and DBS Bank Ltd
    Chairman, SingHealth
    Member, Temasek Advisory Panel
    Recipient of Distinguished Service Order at 2012 National Day Awards

  • Mr Tan Puay Chiang (Class of 1965)
    Chairman, Exxon Mobil China

  • Mr Edmund Tie (Class of 1965)
    Executive Chairman, Edmund Tie & Company (SEA) Pte Ltd

  • Mr Anthony Salim (Class of 1968)
    CEO & President, The Salim Group


  • Mr Eugene Wijeysingha (Class of 1952)
    Former Principal of Raffles Institution (1986-1994)

  • Mr John Yip (Class of 1956)
    Former Director of Education (Retired), Ministry of Education

  • Prof Leo Tan Wee Hin (Class of 1963)
    Professor of Biological Sciences and Director (Special Projects) for Faculty of Science, National University of Singapore
    Former Director of the National Institute of Education and Professor of Natural Sciences and Science Education, Nanyang Technological University

  • Prof Francis Koh (Class of 1968)
    Professor of Finance Practice and Associate Dean, Singapore Management University

  • Assoc Prof Kwok Kian Woon (Class of 1972)
    Associate Chair (Academic) and Head, Division of Sociology School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Nanyang Technological University

  • Mr Winston James Hodge (Class of 1975)
    Former Principal, Anglo-Chinese School (Independent)
    Former Director of Training & Development, Ministry of Education
    Former Principal of Raffles Junior College (2001-2007)

  • Dr Derek da Cunha (Class of 1976)
    Independent Scholar
    Former Senior Fellow, Institute of South East Asian Studies

  • Prof Tan Cheng Han, S.C. (Class of 1980)
    Professor in Law, National University of Singapore
    Senior Counsel
    Chairman, Public Accountants Oversight Committee
    Commissioner, Competition Commission of Singapore
    Council Member, Sport Singapore

  • Mr Chong Jack Sheng (Class of 1990)
    President's Award for Teachers (2011)


  • Mr Tan Chin Seng (Class of 1966)
    Senior Partner, Tan Rajah & Cheah and Commissioner for Oaths

  • Mr Davinder Singh, S.C. (Class of 1973)
    Senior Counsel and CEO, Drew & Napier LLC
    Former Member of Parliament

  • Mr Charles Lim Aeng Cheng (Class of 1973)
    Parliamentary Counsel and Law Commissioner
    Attorney-General's Chamber of Singapore

  • Justice Steven Chong Horng Siong (Class of 1975)
    Judge of Appeal

  • Mr Foo Chee Hock (Class of 1976)
    Judicial Commissioner, Supreme Court

  • Mr Lee Kim Shin (Class of 1976)
    Senior Counsel and managing partner, Allen & Gledhill LLC

  • Mr Lionel Yee Woon Chin (Class of 1982)
    Principal Senior State Counsel, Attorney General's Chambers


  • Prof Kenneth Kwek (Class of 1981)
    CEO of Singapore General Hospital
    Former CEO of KK Women's and Children's Hospital (KKH)


  • Mr Tan Eng Yoon (Class of 1948)
    National athlete and Olympian

  • Mr Leong Kok Fann (Class of 1974)
    Former national soccer player

  • Mr Goh Tat Chuan (Class of 1990)
    Former national soccer player