Home > Community > Alumni > Roll of Honour

Roll of Honour

fsc (150 x 389).jpg

Over the history of the school, many of our Josephians have distinguished themselves by winning various scholarships including the highest awards such as the President's Scholarship. After completing their studies, many of the scholars have achieved success in their chosen professions and many have also gone on to contribute significantly to the development of Singapore in line with the school's mission of nurturing leaders who are Men and Women of Integrity, and Men and Women for Others.

An example of a Josephian who had a successful career after being awarded the State Scholarship in 1959 is Dr Tony Tan. Dr Tan retired as the Deputy Prime Minister in the Singapore Cabinet and was the Deputy Chairman and Executive Director of the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation, Chairman of Singapore Press Holdings and Chairman of the National Research Council. He was elected and sworn in as the 7th President of the Republic of Singapore in 2011.

A more recent example is Mr Teo Chee Hean. He was awarded the President's Scholarship in 1973. In 2009, he was appointed the Deputy Prime Minister in the Singapore Cabinet.

In 1973, SJI produced 3 President's scholars. In addition to Deputy Prime Minister Teo, the two others scholars were Mr George Yeo and Mr Chan Seng Onn. Mr Yeo was formerly the Minister for Foreign Affairs in the Singapore Cabinet while Justice Chan is a Judge in the Supreme Court. Deputy Prime Minister Teo's son, Mr Teo Eng Siang who was also an Old Boy of SJI was awarded the Overseas Merit Scholarship (Open) in 2005. Justice Chan's son also studied at SJI.

Because of the large number of scholarships awarded to Josephians, we can only provide a partial listing of scholarships awarded to Josephians. This listing is not complete because it does not include Josephians who were awarded scholarships from local and international private organisations, international universities, foreign governments and other countries directly.

Our Roll of Honour: